CAYUCOS PARADISE
On the Beach



REVIEWS
4.9
from 21 traveler reviews




Mike from Indiana
Haubstadt, In/midwest/USA
Beautiful stay in Cayucos


We had a great stay in Dorothea's condo in "back in time" little town of Cayucos. Thanks to housekeeper Treva, the unit was very clean upon our arrival. Dorothea met us there as she sometimes stays in another part of the condo on weekends. She was so friendly and nice. We all "bonded" right away. We loved her little well-behaved dog Luna also. No problems inside or outside the house, and everything was stocked and functional. There were flowers and welcome gifts upon our arrival. However the best part of the condo is the location right on the ocean as we had a magnificent view whereby we saw seals and sea otters close by and beautiful sunsets almost every night. The weather was so nice and warm that often we picnicked right on the private patio.Great views also from the inside dining room, living room, and bedroom. There are many things to do in the area, such as Moonstone beach in Cambria which has several parks there along a wooden easily accessible Boardwalk, Hearst Castle and nearby seals, Big Sur Hwy one drive north to Ragged Point and onward. We would highly recommend for anyone to stay in this condo. You can't beat the views as they are spectacular. We would go back anytime just to see Dorothea also! She is a jewel! I want to return with my other sister in the future.

Stayed: February 2016

Submitted: March 14, 2016

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Bay Area Wannabe
Bay Area
Amazing Every Time!


This is our second time in this stunning home on the water. We've been here in the spring and fall. Dorothea makes you feel right at home, and it's private and pretty with the sound of the ocean always present - better than any tranquilizer!

Dorothea is so hospitable and friendly and has the perfect setup with a fully equipped kitchen (plenty of dishes, pots and pans, etc.) if you want to cook in and eat outside while watching the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen! Not to mention she greets you with a gift of a lovely bottle of wine (she remembers what kind you like!), cheese, and crackers.

The birds and the whales and the seals - and the pelicans diving for dinner! - are such wonderful entertainment. It's just a short walk to the cute town of Cayucos and the beach. You can't find a more wonderful place to refresh and renew.

Of course we'll be back again!

Stayed: October 2015

Submitted: October 7, 2015

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Wanderlust
LA
Paradise


Thanks, Dorothea, for your hospitality and sharing this beautiful slice of the California coast. It was just what we were looking for, and we are already planning return visits for many years to come. We feel fortunate to have discovered you and your amazing place on the sea.

Stayed: September 2015

Submitted: September 6, 2015

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Mona R.

~~GIRL TIME!!~~


Back to visit the Central Coast in Cayucos! I LOVE THIS CONDO overlooking the bluffs with views of Morro Rock, the gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. I can't get enough and never want to leave the patio! This visit was girl-time, just me and a girlfriend of 40+ years catching up. Grocery shopped for 2 dinners in Los Osos (Ralphs) as grocery store is very limited in town and pricey. Dorothea, property manager, received us when we arrived and left us a yummy bottle of wine, cheeses and treats to start our stay. Wine/chocolate tasting the next day right up the road in Harmony, lunch at the Harmony Cafe (Super Yummy!), and then onto Cambria for the Scarecrow Festival. Back to the condo for wine, cheeses and beautiful sunset and hours playing Scrabble on the balcony with the many stars over my head!! I stayed in the upstairs condo this time which is just as nice as the downstairs. The master bedroom is super quiet and "darker" so you really get a great night sleep! Super Clean condo with everything you may need...kitchen is equipped really well and if you need any assistance Dorothea is quick to respond. BTW: Dorothea lives in a unit upstairs BUT YOU NEVER SEE HER UNLESS YOU NEED HER.

Will be back again, and again, and AGAIN!! Thank you Dorothea!!

Stayed: October 2014

Submitted: November 4, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Ted S.

A great spot to enjoy the beauty of the ocean and relax


What a great place to relax! My wife and I had a 7 hour drive to get here so it was important to us to have a one on one contact with Dorotha. Thank You. We were met at the property with wine, firewood and some goodies for our first night as well as some suggested places to eat and visit. This is exactly what we wanted. Very close to the water which has outcropped rocks that the waves just make the sounds and the views something to just sit with a beverage and watch the sunrises and sunsets. I have many pictures of the trip on our computer to remember this beautiful mini vacation. We hope to do this again with a longer vacation.

Stayed: October 2014

Submitted: October 21, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Jim
San Clemente, CA
Beautiful place to relax


You cannot beat the location. This place is right on the water and so private. I never wanted to leave and we spent most of our time on the patio. We were here for my my daughter's wedding and made it a little mini vacation. We went to sleep and woke up to the sound of the waves. It was just awesome. Dorothea was great - very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2014

Submitted: October 14, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Poly

50th Birthday


What a awesome property! One of the best places we have stayed at within the Central Coast. The view is amazing, Dorthea is a jewel!! Made my wife's 50th birthday special (roses, wine candy), couldn't thank her enough for what she did for us. I'm hook, my friends and I know where we will be staying on our next trip...

Stayed: August 2014

Submitted: September 2, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Noelle C.

Great views...but disappointing.


We met with the owner back in January when we were searching for property for our annual family vacation. We always go to Cayucos for a week in the summer and were thrilled this property was available. We mentioned to her (the owner) back in January that the number of guests would vary nightly, as it is tricky for everyone to get time off at the same time. We also mentioned numerous times that there were 3 kids ranging in ages 8-12. The beautiful views from the backyard are on a cliff and we obviously understood the safety issue there. When we discussed all this with the owner in January we were told "no problem". As a matter of fact, her only request was that she heard noise and laughter to ensure her guests were having a great time. Sounded great. Fast forward to July...

The views from this property are spectacular and the house itself is clean. The first problem we had was in the upstairs bedroom, which we paid an additional fee to include for the week. Not only were we not allowed to use the deck attached to the bedroom (apparently that area is reserved for the live-in neighbor...who smokes) but we could hear every sound through the wall. Coffee in the morning, phone conversations at night, dishes being done. While we didn't spend time in the bedrooms except to sleep, it was incredibly annoying to have such disturbance when we were trying to sleep.

The neighbor mentioned was very friendly and has a very sweet dog. However, there was no mention of this situation when we rented the property. The property owner (Dorthea) watched and babysat our every move. She reemed us for having kids, which we discussed in January. She knew what time people came and went from the property which made us very uncomfortable. My fiance was able to hop over at the last minute for a night and she knew when he arrived, when he finally left and that he was apparently not welcome, as he was one person too many. At no point in time were we trying to sneak more people in than we originally discussed but that is how Dorthea made us feel. She clearly watched our every move and by the end of the week we no longer felt welcome; we actually considered leaving early.

Overall, the house was clean, very small kitchen, and the views and location were great but not enough to outweigh the negative vibe we received from the owner. Will most certainly not be returning next summer....or any other summer for that matter.

Stayed: July 2014

Submitted: August 22, 2014

Source: VRBO

*Manager response: After reviewing the summary of your stay, I have chosen not to dignify your false assertions. But I would like to address the bigger question-Why wasn't your security deposit returned in it's entirety? The purpose of a security deposit is to insure that upon the exit of the guest(s), the property was treated with respect (i.e. left clean, no damage to linens or soiled furniture). This was not the case. I wish you and your guests all the best in selecting your next location for a holiday. Respectfully, Dorothea Poloynis



Lisa B.

It's all about the View!


The view is just breathtaking! We saw whales, dolphins and seals from the patio with binoculars, highly recommend bringing. The location is great within walking distance to town though we chose to drive. The accommodations are just what you need at a beach house, nothing fancy but the the view. The owner Dorthea is a little firecracker so full of energy and delight. She will give you any advice or suggestions you need for your stay.

Stayed: August 2014

Submitted: August 10, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Romantic getaway



KT
Springville
Fantastic!


What a beautiful property, no doubt one of the best places to stay on the central coast. The owner was wonderful, prices were more than fair, outstanding. Will probably stay there everytime we visit this part of California. FIVE STARS all the way around.

Stayed: July 2014

Submitted: July 22, 2014

Source: VRBO




Rick H.
Phoenix, AZ
Relax and enjoy - the perfect location!


Being that it was our first trip to Cayucos, we were fortunate to have chosen the perfect setting and accommodation. Additionally, the owner/manager was easy to deal with, flexible and very personable. She actually met us at the condo to welcome us and show us around. We shared the cheese tray and wine she gifted to us, while she reviewed the local restaurants and points of interest. The 2-bedroom, 2-bath condo was spacious - perfect for 2 couples, nicely furnished, well maintained and extremely clean (and unlike most Cayucos rentals, linens and towels were provided). The living room opened to a full length deck with barbecue and comfy Adirondack chairs. The setting was gorgeous. The deck has a 180 degree view of the coastline, to include the beach and pier to the south and the rocky cliffs to the north. It sits about 20 feet over the waves crashing against the rocks below. The deck was perfect for coffee in the AM, cocktails in the PM and star watching in the evening. The condo is a quick 3 minute walk to town. We never used the car for any meals or shopping trips in Cayucos. We highly recommend this property and would happily stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014

Submitted: June 24, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Steve C.

Highlight of 46th anniversary trip


Our stay here was the highlight of our 46th anniversary trip. As others have remarked, Dorothea welcomed us with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a nice bottle of wine, an assortment of cheeses and delicious candies. After orienting us around, we never saw her again unless we called which we did to ask her to join us for a glass of wine the first day and to share a wonderful meal on the deck our last night. Dorothea was fun to visit with and very knowledgeable about the local area.The views from the dining area and the deck were gorgeous and provided a terrific back drop for reading, relaxing or charcoal grilling which we did on three of our five evenings. The first day, a sea lion graced the rocky beach below. We watched dolphins pass by on one occasion and every day witnessed four to five sea otters swimming in the tidal pool area right out front. The property resides in a nice, quiet location away from downtown but only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. Everyone in town was friendly, what food we ate out was good and Cayucos has now become our favorite California place to visit and Dorothea's our favorite place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014

Submitted: May 7, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Mona R.

~GORGEOUS AND RELAXING OCEAN BLUFF CONDO~


Hubby and I have found the perfect spot on the Central Coast!! Beautiful! Relaxing! Super clean, quiet, and walking distance to town and the ocean! Ours was a quick 2day trip and I never left the patio that overlooks the bluff. Hubby walked everywhere. Dinner at the Caf‚ Della Via was wonderful-everything made from scratch. Pies from the Pieman, drinks and munchies at the Schooner are all super tasty. Gorgeous sunrises with views of Morro Rock while having morning coffee, watching dolphins, otters and elephant seals play in waters and rocks below, leading to beautiful romantic sunsets...I swear you never want to leave. The property manager/owner Dorothea is a delight and is there for your every need while discreetly out-of-sight. Give this condo a try...you won't be disappointed. WE CAN'T WAIT UNTIL OUR RETURN!!

Stayed: January 2014

Submitted: January 19, 2014

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Pat
San Diego
Amazing Views!


Very peaceful city and property. Oceanfront property on a short cliff. No beach access, but short walk to city and beach (1/2 mile). Owner very friendly and greeted us with wine and cheese. Unit is equipped with pretty much everything. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: November 2013

Submitted: December 8, 2013

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Beachlover
Fresno, Ca
An Amazing Condo


I walked into this well-appointed condo and was delighted with the fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, and best of all the ocean just outside my door. The property is locked and gated which was important to me since I was traveling alone. The owner was a dear plus helpful and accommodating. I loved the fact I could leave my car at the condo and walk into this adorable town or just hang out on the deck and enjoy books, surf and sea life. (Saw dolphins, otters, and even two whales.) There is no doubt that I have found the perfect place to stay in Cayucos.

Stayed: July 2013

Submitted: November 24, 2013

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



Cheese-its
Bakersfield, CA
getaway


This is the second time we have stayed at this BEAUTIFUL indulgence. The view is mesmerizing and breathtaking. It is the TRUE meaning of "beachfront view". This was NOT a hotel, but rather a comfortable unit to yourself. The owner is professional and available, yet not in your business. We look forward to our next visit to this lovely home away from home, and to see the smart and kind owner.

Stayed: September 2013

Submitted: October 29, 2013

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway



Glenna R.
Clovis, Ca
Absolutely lovely!!!


Had a "GNO" week, with 4 women staying in this home. It was absolutely LOVELY and we couldn't have asked for more. Nice and roomy and able to get around without getting in each other's way. The home itself was immaculate and decorated so nicely, making us feel instantly "at home" and all wishing WE had a place like this!! The kitchen has every appliance and utensil you can think of, so makes cooking and/or preparing snacks a breeze.

Loved the owner - she was funny, informative, sweet, helpful, and couldn't do enough for us.

The back patio is beautiful with lovely plants and flowers, and of course, that big beautiful ocean to stare at, along with the gorgeous sunsets. it just doesn't get any better than that.

Easy walking distance to downtown Cayucos, the pier, the restaurants, the local wine-tasting room, etc, etc.. also makes this home a huge plus.

The 4 of us will be staying again & again - no doubt about it. :)?

Stayed: August 2013

Submitted: September 23, 2013

Source: HomeAway Family




Kelly_HAC42910
Fresno, California
Absolutely Lovely!!!!!


Had a "GNO" week, with 4 women staying in this home. It was absolutely LOVELY and we couldn't have asked for more. Nice and roomy and able to get around without getting in each other's way. The home itself was immaculate and decorated so nicely, making us feel instantly "at home" and all wishing WE had a place like this!! The kitchen has every appliance and utensil you can think of, so makes cooking and/or preparing snacks a breeze.

Loved the owner - she was funny, informative, sweet, helpful, and couldn't do enough for us.

The back patio is beautiful with lovely plants and flowers, and of course, that big beautiful ocean to stare at, along with the gorgeous sunsets. it just doesn't get any better than that.

Easy walking distance to downtown Cayucos, the pier, the restaurants, the local wine-tasting room, etc, etc.. also makes this home a huge plus.

The 4 of us will be staying again & again - no doubt about it!!! ?

Stayed: August 2013

Submitted: September 23, 2013

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway



Debby
Virginia
Beautiful views!


My friends and I had a reunion at this property. The owner filled us in on the basics and then let us know she was available if we needed her. Even though she lived next door, we didn't see her unless we had a question. The property is clean and well equipped. The view is gorgeous and has an access to the beach/tidal pools. It is just a short walk to the town of Cayucos, where we found plenty to do. I would recommend this property to anyone without small children (the steps are too steep).

Stayed: August 2012

Submitted: September 1, 2012

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Romantic getaway



Elisabeth
Pasadena, CA
It was amazing!!!!


My husband and baby son just stayed here for a long weekend. It is RIGHT on the water - on a cliff, in fact. My son cannot walk yet and stayed inside so it was perfect. (I would not bring small children here). It had ample space and its own patio out to a little garden cliff above the water. It was very nice and comfortable with 2 levels (two queens on the ocean-level floor, and two twins in the upstairs bedroom). The owners are very nice and left us flowers and wine and cheese (because it was our anniversary). Even though there are two other units we had a very private stay. I highly recommend this place!!!

Stayed: November 2011

Submitted: November 17, 2011

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers



©Copyright 2016 - 2021, Cayucos Paradise. All rights reserved worldwide.
Design and hosting by John Kiapos, JOKICO